What is Saffron? Negin, Sargol, and Pushal?

What is Saffron? Negin Sargol Pushal

Types of Saffron

The saffron crocus (Crocus sativus) can grow from 20 to 30 cm tall. The plant starts to produce flowers three years after the seeds are planted. Each plant produces about 3 to 4 purple flowers and each flower yields about three crimson stigmas, called threads, which are the type of fragrant spice humans have long loved to consume as a seasoning and a coloring agent in their cuisines.

There are different quality grades and a wide range of prices for saffron in the global market. Three major types of saffron are Negin, Sargol, and Pushal, as scientists generally categorize, with regard to the different parts of crocus stigmas. Below are the main types of saffron globally traded, although these three types have their own subgrades and prices. We should remember that these details display only the general characteristics of stigmas.


Types of Saffron:


  • High-quality Stigmas
  • Very Aromatic
  • Long, Thick, and Undamaged Stigmas, Excluding the Style (The Yellow & White Parts)
  • Crocin: Minimum 215-240
  • Safranal: Minimum 55
  • Picrocrocin:Minimum 80
  • Moisture: Under 7%


  • High-quality
  • Very Aromatic
  • Short and More Fragile Threads, Excluding the Yellow and White Parts of the Style
  • Only Tip of the Stigma
  • Crocin: Minimum 205-225
  • Safranal: Minimum 35
  • Picrocrocin: Minimum 80
  • Moisture: Under 8%


  • Good Quality
  • Aromatic
  • Long Threads Including the Yellow Part and a Few Bits of the White Part of the Style (3 to 5 mm of the Style)
  • Crocin: Minimum 125-170/ Crocin (Quality Pushal): Minimum 200-222
  • Safranal: Minimum 30
  • Picrocrocin: Minimum 75
  • Moisture:  Under 8%

Back to list

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *